Meliora logo with ribbons

Celebrating Warner’s Class of 2022

The University of Rochester and the Warner School of Education and Human Development honor the 278 Warner School members of the Class of 2022! Academic degrees were conferred May 13-14 in a weekend of celebratory activities. Our newest professional counselors, educators and administrators now venture into the world to help make it a more just and humane place. 

Warner School graduates

Congratulations, Warner School graduates!

Select the programs below to view all 2022 graduates.


Warner Students Outside Eastman Theatre

Warner School ceremony

Students Celebrating with Warner Flag

University ceremony

Commencement speaker

Lorna Washington

Lorna Washington

Lorna Washington ‘22W (EdD) represented the University of Rochester’s graduate students in a special address at the University’s first institution-wide commencement in decades.

Read her speech. 

Student awards 

Congratulations to our 2022 student award recipients. 

Eleanore F. Larson Award for Excellence in Teaching 
The Eleanore F. Larson Award for Excellence in Teaching was presented to Sarah Gnage and Megan O’Hara. Gnage, a Rochester native who has a bachelor's in biological sciences from Binghamton University, graduates with a master’s in adolescence education in biology and advanced certificates in digitally-rich teaching in K-12 schools, urban teaching and leadership and adolescence education in chemistry. She plans to teach living environment or chemistry in the Rochester City School District following graduation. O’Hara, who previously earned a bachelor’s degree in mass communications and worked in fashion, completed a master’s in childhood education and advanced certificate in digitally-rich teaching in K-12 schools. She hopes to return to New York City to teach in an upper elementary-level classroom, specializing in digitally rich teaching. The award, which recognizes students for their commitment to teaching, is named for Larson, a former professor who inspired her students to embrace a strong commitment to the education of children.

Mary Ellen Burris Human Development Award 
The Mary Ellen Burris Human Development Award was presented to Paul Mokrzycki, who graduated with a master’s in human development with a specialization in research. Mokrzycki, a New York City native who also earned a bachelor’s degree in public health from the University of Rochester, works as a housing advocate in his hometown of Brooklyn. He plans to expand on his graduate focus by working on unsheltered homeless health and well-being issues. The award, given to graduate students who bring human development theory and research into practice, is named for Burris in recognition of her career at Wegmans, where she used her knowledge of human development to empower customers to live healthier lives.

Harold Munson Counseling and Human Development Award 
The Harold Munson Counseling and Human Development Award was presented to Luis Andres Quesada Gonzalez and Ayumi Yuasa. Born in Costa Rica, Quesada Gonzalez received a master’s in mental health counseling.  He previously received his bachelor’s degree in psychology from the University of South Florida and plans to pursue his doctorate in psychology in the near future. After pursuing and working as an audio engineer, Yuasa received a master’s in school counseling with concentration in diversity and an advanced certificate in urban teaching and leadership. She hopes to work with high school students as they embark on post-graduation plans. The award, given to students who reflect the mission of the counseling program, is named for Munson, professor emeritus, who initiated the school and community counseling programs and developed the programs’ high standards recognized by school districts and community agencies.

Tyll van Geel Educational Leadership Award 
The Tyll van Geel Award was presented to Tokeya Graham, Ryan Messenger and Lorna Washington, who all three completed their doctorates in educational administration. Graham, who grew up in Rochester, holds an associate's degree in human services, a bachelor's degree in English with a focus on creative writing, and a master's degree in English. She also has a certificate in equity and inclusion. Graham is currently a tenured English professor at Monroe Community College. Messenger, also born and raised in Rochester, earned a bachelor’s degree in education from Roberts Wesleyan College and a master’s in history from SUNY Brockport. He is the ombudsman and assistant to the vice president of student services at Monroe Community College. A Rochester native, Washington earned a master's in leadership in healthcare systems, health promotion, education & technology from the School of Nursing. She is the senior program officer for the William & Sheila Konar Foundation. With her doctorate complete, she hopes to teach a college-level course and to continue positively impacting K-12 education in Rochester. The award is named for van Geel, professor emeritus, who is a scholar of education law and applied ethical issues in education who was instrumental in designing the educational leadership program. The award is presented to doctoral students in educational leadership who demonstrate van Geel’s commitment to ethical leadership and decision making, and application of scholarship to practice.

Logan R. Hazen Award for Educational Leadership 
The Logan R. Hazen Award for Educational Leadership was presented to Jennie Gilardoni and Hannah O’Connor. Gilardoni received her master’s in educational administration with specialization in higher education student affairs. She is a Rochester native who has worked as an administrator at the University of Rochester for the last 9 years. She received her bachelor’s degree in hotel and restaurant management from Niagara University and now hopes to pursue a career focused on student inclusion, community and belonging. After earning her bachelor's degree in political science in 2021, O’Connor entered her fifth year at the University of Rochester. Originally from Long Island, she pursued her master's in education policy as a part of the GRADE program and hopes to use her degree to create a more equitable and inclusive education system. The award, given to students based on academic success and a commitment to educational administration, is named for Hazen, professor emeritus, who mentored student affairs professionals and taught courses in higher education, while serving as the program director.

Join the celebration

Share your congratulations and celebrate with us on social media. Take advantage of the University's celebration toolkit that includes cover photos, zoom backgrounds, mortarboard cut-outs and more. Use the hashtags #UR2022 and #URwarner2022 and don't forget to tag the Warner School. We look forward to seeing and sharing your posts!

Class of 2022 Collage

Meet the Class of 2022

Class of 2022 graduates from across the University took to Instagram to share some of their favorite memories. View the story of Warner School classmate Lorna Washington ’22W (EdD) and many more

Check out their stories