Skip to main content

Celebrating Warner’s Class of 2023

We proudly celebrated the remarkable achievements of our 2023 Warner School of Education graduates! Their commitment and resilience have led them to this well-deserved milestone.

A big thank you to the families and our community for their steadfast support. Here's to the bright futures of our accomplished graduates – cheers to their success!

Student Awards

Congratulations to our 2023 student award recipients. 

Mary Ellen Burris Human Development Award 

The Mary Ellen Burris Human Development Award was presented to Ewin Joseph, who graduated with a master’s degree in human development with a specialization in family studies. Born and raised in Port-au-Prince, Haiti, Joseph earned a bachelor’s in anthropology and gender, sexuality, and women’s studies from the University of Rochester. A passion for education, women’s rights, and education led her also to complete a master’s in legal studies from Northeastern University, while pursuing her Warner School degree, and she plans to attend law school. The award, given to graduate students who bring human development theory and research into practice, is named for Burris in recognition of her career at Wegmans, where she used her knowledge of human development to empower customers to live healthier lives.

Harold Munson Counseling and Human Development Award 

The Harold Munson Counseling and Human Development Award was presented to Yunjing "Chloe" Lin and Allison Yerger. Born and raised in China, Lin received a master's degree in mental health counseling. She intends to remain in the U.S. to continue cultivating her skills. Yerger also received her master’s degree in school counseling with a specialization in leadership. The award, given to students who reflect the mission of the counseling program, is named for Munson, professor emeritus, who initiated the school and community counseling programs and developed the programs’ high standards recognized by school districts and community agencies.

Logan R. Hazen Award for Educational Leadership 

The Logan R. Hazen Award for Educational Leadership was presented to Danica Brown and Mayra Vite-Romero. Brown is from Swink, a small town in Colorado. A proud first-generation student, they received their bachelor’s in history from the University of Colorado at Colorado Springs. Brown has been working in residential life at the University of Rochester, while pursuing their master’s degree. Brown looks forward to returning to Colorado and continuing to work in student affairs. Vite-Romero and her family migrated to the United States from Mexico. Education was always at the forefront of why her family moved. After receiving support from faculty and staff as an undergraduate, she was inspired to pursue her master’s in educational administration. She currently supports students as a counselor at the University of Rochester. The award, given to students based on academic success and a commitment to educational administration, is named for Hazen, professor emeritus, who mentored student affairs professionals and taught courses in higher education, while serving as the program director.

Eleanore F. Larson Award for Excellence in Teaching 

The Eleanore F. Larson Award for Excellence in Teaching was presented to Jane Pritchard and Tianzi (Jerry) Wang. Born and raised in New York, Pritchard earned a bachelor’s degree in American and British literature from the University of Rochester. Inspired by her parents’ dedication to teaching students of all abilities and backgrounds, she received a master’s degree in inclusion and secondary ELA education. She will continue to work as an English educator in the Rochester area. Originally from China, Wang received a bachelor’s in language education. Having taught Mandarin and English in several countries for five years, Wang continues to pursue his commitment to education. He will remain in the U.S. to work as a world language teacher and positively impact students. The award, which recognizes students for their commitment to teaching, is named for Larson, a former professor who inspired her students to embrace a strong commitment to the education of children.

Tyll van Geel Educational Leadership Award 

The Tyll van Geel Award was presented to Samuel Peter Martina and Fei Shi, who both completed their doctorates in educational administration. Martina earned a master’s degree in liberal studies from Excelsior College, followed by a certificate of advanced study in school district leadership, with additional certification as a school building leader, from the Warner School. With his doctorate complete, he will return to Rochester Academy to continue to dedicate himself to the success of his students. Originally from China, Shi initially pursued a career in the business world after obtaining her master’s in business administration. However, her experiences and inner desire to serve students inspired her to pursue a doctorate in education. She plans to use her degree to work in higher education. The award is named for van Geel, professor emeritus, who is a scholar of education law and applied ethical issues in education who was instrumental in designing the educational leadership program. The award is presented to doctoral students in educational leadership who demonstrate van Geel’s commitment to ethical leadership and decision-making, and application of scholarship to practice.

University Commencement Website

The University of Rochester has set up a website including schedules, frequently asked questions, details and other important information and updates.

2023 Commencement Ceremony

Join the Celebration

Share your congratulations and celebrate with us! 

Take advantage of the University's Celebration toolkit that includes cover photos, zoom backgrounds, mortarboard cut-outs and more.

On social use the hashtags #UR2023 and #URwarner2023 and don't forget to tag the Warner School. We look forward to seeing and sharing your posts!