Skip to main content

Association of Educational Publishers names top education web sites

Association of Educational Publishers Names Top Education Web Sites

(Pictured: Warner faculty member April Luehmann, who directs the science teacher education program, worked with the National Academy of Sciences to develop the award-winning site.) Named Finalist in 2007 Distinguished Achievement Awards

When the Association of Educational Publishers (AEP) announced the finalists for this year’s Distinguished Achievement Awards,, an online adventure for middle school girls, was among the top education Web sites named by a panel of educators and leading experts in the field. was recognized in the category of “Curriculum: Science Instruction, Web sites, Grades 6-8.”

April Luehmann, assistant professor in teaching and curriculum, worked with the National Academy of Sciences to develop, an imaginative science Web site that showcases the accomplishments of contemporary women in science, highlights the intriguing careers of some of today's most prominent scientists, and most importantly, makes learning fun for middle school girls. She used research-supported findings on how students, especially girls, learn science and relied on her own experiences of working with middle school girls to advise the National Academy of Sciences on design and content that would be exciting for girls, help them get the most out of the classroom and home activities, and give their parents and teachers an accessible resource.

“The selection of is a special honor for both the National Academy of Sciences and the Warner School,” says Luehmann. “The Web site represents some exciting new ways to intrigue, inform, and inspire middle school girls.”

Research continues to show that as girls grow older, they lose interest in math and science. “The site not only does a great job of luring middles school girls in, but it also engrosses them in the fascinating world of science through exciting games, handy facts, and intriguing contemporary scientists,” adds Luehmann. To learn more about the site, visit

The winners will be presented at the Annual Awards Banquet and Gala on June 12, 2007 at the Renaissance Hotel in Washington, D.C.