Caps Off to the 2010 Warner Graduates

For the 200 students receiving doctoral and master’s degrees and certificates from the Warner School of Education, May 15 was a day to celebrate. Family and friends gathered to commemorate the class of 2010 as Warner graduates walked across stage in recognition of earning their graduate degrees in education.
Graduation festivities began Saturday morning with the Doctoral Degree Ceremony at Kodak Hall at Eastman Theater. The Warner School Commencement began in the afternoon in Strong Auditorium with a welcome from the University’s Board of Trustees Chairman Edmund Hajim, President Joel Seligman, and Dean Raffaella Borasi. After welcoming remarks, special student awards were presented to the following five Warner graduates for their exceptional academic performance and commitment to education:
The Walter I. Garms Award for Educational Leadership was presented to Jenna Dell, who graduated with a master’s in higher education student affairs. Dell, a Phi Beta Kappa graduate, earned her bachelor’s in anthropology and sociology from Elmira College. Her experiences studying abroad combined with her involvement as a campus student leader led her to study higher education administration. She will pursue her Ed.D. in the fall. The Garms Award is named in honor of Walter Garms, professor emeritus and former dean of the University of Rochester’s School of Education, who was a leader in the study of both school finance and state funding in public schools. The Garms Award recognizes a graduate student who shows academic excellence and potential for excellence in educational leadership.
The Eleanore F. Larson Award for Excellence in Teaching was presented to Carli Moochler, who graduated with a master’s in science education for grades 7 to 12 with a concentration in biology and chemistry and inclusion, as well as a grade 5 and 6 extension. She looks forward to sharing her passion and excitement for learning with students. The Larson Award is named in honor of Eleanore F. Larson, an extraordinary professor who taught both undergraduate and graduate students in the University of Rochester’s School of Education. Larson’s passion for instructional excellence inspired her students to embrace a strong commitment to the education of children. The Larson Award recognizes a graduate student whose commitment to teaching reflects Larson’s work.
The Harold Munson Counseling and Human Development Award was presented to Ashley Alton, who graduated with a master’s in community mental health counseling. Alton’s goal is to help individuals who have severe and persistent mental illness. She plans to become licensed and eventually open a private practice. Alton is a SUNY Geneseo graduate of psychology. The award is named for Harold Munson, professor emeritus, who initiated the school and community counseling programs at the University of Rochester’s School of Education and developed the programs’ high standards recognized by school districts and community agencies. The Munson Award is given to a graduate student who reflects the mission and objectives of the Warner School counseling program.
The Tyll van Geel Award was presented to two Warner doctoral graduates: Mathis Calvin III and James Sunser. Calvin, who received his Ed.D. in school district leadership, has been a special and general education teacher, curriculum writer, staff professional development coach, charter school academy director, and is now the director of pupil personnel and special education for the Letchworth City School District. Sunser, who received his Ed.D. in higher education, has worked in higher education administration and faculty positions for over 25 years and is the vice president of continuing and extended learning at Onondaga Community College. He is a graduate of Syracuse University, SUNY Brockport, and Onondaga Community College. The award is named for Tyll van Geel, professor emeritus, who is a renowned scholar of education law and applied ethical issues in education. Professor van Geel was instrumental in designing the educational leadership program at the Warner School. The Tyll van Geel Award is presented to a doctoral student in educational leadership who demonstrates Professor van Geel’s commitment to thoughtful, ethical leadership and decision making, and rigorous application of scholarship to practice.
In addition to applauding the graduates for their great academic achievements, President Seligman and Dean Raffaella Borasi proudly recognized Andrew Wall, assistant professor in educational leadership, for his innovative teaching style, advising, program development, and research. On behalf of the University of Rochester, Seligman presented Wall with the G. Graydon ‘58 and Jane W. Curtis Award for Excellence in Teaching by a Nontenured Member of the Faculty.
On behalf of the University of Rochester community, the Warner School congratulates its graduates and their families.

To view Warner School Commencement Photos:

Visit the Warner School Page on Facebook (courtesy of Warner Communications).

Visit University Photographic Services (available for purchase or download).


Contact: Theresa Danylak

Tags: award, Commencement