University of Rochester a National Winner in Kauffman Foundation 'Campus Initiatives' Program

The Ewing Marion Kauffman Foundation has selected the University as one of eight institutions across the country—and the only one in the Northeast—to receive a major, multi-year grant to make entrepreneurship education an even deeper ingredient of academic activity.

The foundation awarded the University $3.5 million, which will be part of a $10.5 million University program—affecting students and faculty in the Warner School, Eastman School of Music, School of Nursing, the College of Arts, Sciences, and Engineering, Simon School of Business Administration, and School of Medicine and Dentistry.

With these funds, the University will begin a program over the next five years to embed entrepreneurship into programs across the disciplines and schools. Entrepreneurship is relevant to all fields and can be interpreted as a way to "transform ideas into enterprises that generate value," where the value could be intellectual, social, or economic.

"When we talk about educators as agents of change, we are really talking about preparing educators with the vision, knowledge, and skills to affect change, manage risk, and make strategic investments of time and resources in new initiatives," says Dean Raffaella Borasi, who worked collaboratively with the other deans and sees great opportunity in bringing a focused entrepreneurial lens to education.

The initiative will include the creation of a University Center for Entrepreneurship to identify new partnerships with alumni, local businesses, and nonprofit organizations, to encourage faculty to design coursework and programs, and to advance research into "best practices" in entrepreneurship education.

For Warner, the grant will help to expand Warner Center initiatives, fund new courses, and lead to the development of new certificate programs at Warner to prepare educators for emerging careers in professional development and program evaluation.

Kauffman Campuses Initiatives Grants also went to Washington University in St. Louis, Wake Forest University, University of Illinois at Champaign-Urbana, University of Texas at El Paso, University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill, Howard University, and Florida International University in Miami.

The Ewing Marion Kauffman Foundation (www.kauffman.org), based in Kansas City, works with partners to advance entrepreneurship in America and improve the education of children and youth.

University of Rochester President Thomas H. Jackson, Eastman School of Music Dean and Director James Undercofler, and Warner School Dean Raffaella Borasi take questions at a press conference announcing the Kauffman Award.

Tags: collaboration, entrepreneurship, entrepreneurship in education, Ewing Marion Kauffman Foundation, grant, President Thomas H. Jackson, Raffaella Borasi