Science STARS Film Wins Philip Seymour Hoffman Award at Roc Teen Film Festival

you are not alone film awardeesLights, camera, action! In August, East High School girls participating in the Warner School’s Science STARS afterschool program this past year received an award for their film You Are Not Alone, as they were among the top 11 finalists in the 2014 Rochester Teen Film Festival held at The Little Theatre in Rochester.
Their film about teen depression received the newly established Philip Seymour Hoffman Award, which honors the life and legacy of the late Academy Award-winning actor and Fairport, N.Y. native who passed away in February.  Established in association with the Hoffman family with funds raised during The Little’s Philip Seymour Hoffman Tribute Film Series, the award is given annually to young filmmakers whose film is chosen by the judges as “Best of Fest”.
Science STARS (Students Tackling Authentic and Relevant Science) is an afterschool club for seventh through twelfth-grade girls at East High School in Rochester. Girls participating in Science STARS connect science with real-life, everyday issues, like teen depression, that are important to them. Through their scientific investigation, girls looked more closely this year at East High’s perspective and experience with teen depression. They then focused on honing their literacy skills along with science practices as they worked alongside professional filmmakers and University of Rochester undergraduate science majors to create this science documentary. Warner master’s students who are studying to become science teachers and doctoral students help oversee the program, along with Science STARS director and founder April Luehmann.
The film was shown on the main screen at The Little along with other films made by local teens that were selected as finalists. An award ceremony followed the screening and recognized the following East High teen filmmakers: Desarai Beasley, Marissa Colaianni, Skyah Kennedy, Desmonet Leggett, Morgan Linton, Alicia Massey, Allissia McDonald, Sonyalice McGrew, Ty’Asia Nelson, Emily O’Neil, Keyli Pagan, Alana Sturgis, Semaj Tillery, Alika Warren, and Ellisia Young.

The Teen Film Festival is a collaboration among Nazareth College and the High Falls Film Festival. Students from urban, suburban, and rural schools around the Rochester area compete to have their films shown on the big screen at The Little Theatre in downtown Rochester. Warner graduate Brian Bailey ’09 (PhD), associate professor of adolescence education at Nazareth College, is co-founder and co-director of the Rochester Teen Film Festival and Summer Camp, both of which grew out of his research on Youth Digital Media Production and Literacy.
To learn more about Science STARS, which is part of the Get Real! Science teacher preparation program at the Warner School, click here or visit http://www.rochester.edu/news/show.php?id=3941.
You Are Not Alone

# # #
Media Contact: Theresa Danylak
(585) 275-0777; (585) 278-6273 (cell)

Tags: April Luehmann, East, Get Real! Science, science education, Science STARS